Ostomysecrets. Product Reviews. Diamonds™ Gelling Sachets with ActiveOne™ Odor Control
 
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Covatec Diamond Gelling Sachets
I found this product by accident and I think that it has helped me be more confident when I go out, but more importantly when I am going to bed. I slip one or sometimes 2 Sachets into my pouch before I go to bed. I have not had what I like to call a "Wardrobe Malfunction" since I started using this product at night.
It has also cut them down to almost never during the day.
It's a great product. Try it out!
Jill | 5/17/2019 5:19 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
These Sachets are Awesome
I have had an ileostomy for over 43 years.  I have not let it slow me down or prevent me from doing most things. I am very active--swim, tennis, yoga, etc.  Until this product came along, I was very careful what I ate before any type of exercise in tight fitting clothes or situations where a bathroom might not be readily available (such as on a boat).  Since trying this product, my worries about preparing for such activities has diminished!  This has really been a "game changer" for me!!
Stephanie | 5/15/2019 5:02 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great
This works great...and the bonus to the Diamonds is they are very convenient for travel and outings...no bulky bottle of liquid in your kit...just pop one in and go...
Sharon | 8/29/2018 2:56 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Fantastic
I finally enjoy something for odor control and gas absorption in one packet. These Sachets are wonderful.  I will be ordering these. Thanks!
Carla | 8/22/2018 7:45 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Diamonds sachet
Since my husband had his colostomy, I am always looking for things to make his life easier. He was skeptical of this product in the beginning but now he says they have been life changing.  He travels for work so his flight experiences has been greatly improved with these little sachets. Thank you!
Leslie | 3/9/2018 10:16 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Awesome product Diamonds
I will not be without my Diamonds, this is a perfect product for me. I have loose stool Diamonds help with that and the oder is much better controlled.
Doreen | 10/28/2017 3:54 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Great product !!
My ileo has had watery output for the 3 months I have had it. I heard about this product on a support site I belong to and they recommend Diamonds. I ordered them and they do what they say !! Now I go out a lot more with confidence. Super product !! It gave me back some freedom !!!
Carl | 7/14/2016 9:45 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
what a relief!
I tried them and really like them.. Makes me happy that I can go to bed at night and sleep for more then three hrs without getting up and emptying my bag.  Hate that feeling when bag is full and puffy with gas after sleeping for a few hours and you know that in the back of your mind, "Will I make it by not getting a mess all over my hands because it is to full?" At 3 in the morning, the last thing you want to do is clean the toilet because you had an "accident" and it went all over the toilet on your hands and other weird places. Having Diamonds sachets  makes it a whole lot easier.. Your stool is thick enough that you don't make a mess while emptying it. With going so long with out emptying there is always an "odor" but with Diamonds not soo much at all which is nice.  You still get a little bit of the gas in your pouch when you are sleeping but that is to be expected.  You are not moving around soo much.. I really like these sachets..Started to use them during the day also..Don't have to empty as much..Really happy that I found them on this site.  I will recommend them to everyone I meet that has an Ostomy...Great Job inventing them.  As for the carbon bits, If i still have some left over in the bag after I empty, I save those little suckers because even a little bit left helps the stool thicken up.  
Amy | 8/11/2015 8:33 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/1)
Couldn't live without them
Absolutely love these "diamonds".  My daughter is on TPN and her output is water.  It was messy at minimum, and difficult to change her pouch.  We have to use 2 diamonds in each pouch, but no more spilling.  We cannot imagine our life without them. I'm just disappointed that out support team didn't know about this product.  
Victoria | 7/19/2015 9:17 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
diamonds
When I read the comments from Aaron  I had to laugh, he sounds exactly like our son Aaron, a phd. All scientists that I  know speak the same way, like a 5 year old using a literal stance to argue their way out of trouble when they've done something wrong.
   I use Diamonds and love them. They work as stated, and the price is high but I feel that it's in line. After all, they work . What more can you say, or need to know.
Russell | 6/25/2015 5:36 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Gas????
I have been using this product now for over a year. It works wonders. No it is not perfect, but it does solidify the waste and truly helps reduce the odor. I am much more confident when using a public restroom. I have not had any gas issues. If I think I may have more waste than usual I will use two sachets.  I have very little extra disposable income, but this product is so worth it.
Pat | 4/9/2015 11:39 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
diamonds
This product is the only thing I have ever found that actually reduces the sMell from my illeostomy from all most foods.
David | 1/31/2015 10:07 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (3/0)
Diamonds
Vow!
Rajesh | 8/8/2014 8:05 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
It's all in a name
The name of this product reminds me of a conversation I once had about stainless steel. It is stain-"LESS" steel, not stain-"Free" steel; the steel will still stain, but less so relative to other metals and steels. If you buy these "sachets" (how European) expecting an odor "FREE" bag, you will be disappointed. The odor is reduced, but only to the extent that the output in your bag "gels". That leads me to point 2. The gelling capacity of the powder stored in the sachets is reasonable, but you'll need two sachets to gel 1/2 a bag of "output". At $0.50 per sachet that gets pricey. Oh and read the instructions... I didn't and therefore didn't know you weren't supposed to open the sachet and empty the contents into the ostomy bag. Just drop it in the ostomy bag, the paper of the sachet will dissolve.

This is a good product, borderline great, but set reasonable expectations even for a product with such a hefty price tag.

One last note: I can't say this for certain, I have no scientific data to back it up, but from my own observation the ostomy bag fills with gas more quickly when I'm using a sachet. That leads me to believe there is an outgassing byproduct to the gelling process. And that gas is by no means odor free, nor is it odor pleasant! Just an observation, and I'd be interested to hear if others have noted the same.

Bottom line: Don't expect a miracle, but if you have disposable income that enables buying one or two cartons a month, this product is worth having. If it means sacrificing elsewhere in your monthly budget to afford, I'd think twice.
Stephanie | 4/18/2014 11:03 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Diamonds
The "Diamonds" product is one of a few great tools that makes living with an ostomy just a little bit easier.  It does all that it claims, helping both with odor control and ballooning.  For me, this has been a long hard journey learning to accept such a huge body change and I am grateful for anything that helps me live a more normal life.  My only area of concern is COST.  We live on a modest income, and  get no insurance coverage with any ostomy supplies.  They help so much and I would pay anything for them if I could but I am forced to use them sparingly, only using them for travel or special occasions.   Hopefully in the future maybe the price of them will come down a bit.
Thank you for carrying them.
Annette | 1/21/2014 5:55 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Great Product!
I had an ostomy due to ulcerative colitis two months ago. This product has made getting used to my ostomy much, much easier. Less odor and much more manageable stools. I can highly recommend it to others.
James | 9/2/2013 9:07 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
Life savor!
My Daughter has an ileostomy and unfortunately we were assured that eventually the liquid would thicken and it never did.  For 2 years we have had a watery mess.  I heard about swimmers using these on a support group.  Tried them and we use them constantly!  No more swollen pouches, the watery stool is gelled and the smell is far less than before!.  We absolutely love this product and it makes life so much easier!
Victoria | 8/2/2013 1:07 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)